Map of the Schengen countries 

Under the Schengen agreement, transiting from one country to another within the Schengen area is done without border controls. In fact, the Schengen visa makes it possible to visit all the countries in the Schengen area and to cross internal borders without further formalities.

But be careful – the European Union and the Schengen area are two different zones! The list below will enable you to see the difference and check that the countries where you are planning to stay are all in the Schengen area.

Map of Schengen countries

List of Schengen countries

To find one of the embassies or consulates of one of those countries, click on the name of the country.

Austria Belgium Czech Republic Denmark
Estonia Finland France Germany
Greece Hungary Iceland Italy
Latvia Lithuania Luxembourg Malta
Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal
Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden

Additionally, AXA Schengen insurance covers Liechtenstein and, in some cases, the non-Schengen countries of the European Union.